diy solar

diy solar

Which all in one system has the fewest software issues?

Runik

Seems like software /communication problems give most solar users the biggest headaches. I'm just starting out building a small off-grid system and am wondering what I can do at the start to avoid these issues as much as possible? I was looking at the EG4 6oooXP with either (3) LifePower 4 batteries or (1) 48V 280AH / 14.3 kw battery.
From what I've seen on YouTube, even the older simpler systems software are giving their owners headaches.
Would it be a good idea to wait a few months to see if these relatively new products develop any major issues?

EG4 6oooXP
The number on them is the wattage, in this case 6000
Building stuff yourself makes it far easier to troubleshoot later. Buying all pre-made and troubleshooting it makes you have to learn the ins and outs enough to build it anyway.
Only things that are "just working" are pretty much victron, not sure if they even have an all in one

I am in the same boat, I seems like not only solar AIO systems have firmware issues but everything else made today like cars, appliances, and all computers. I currently have a 12v system with 2 charge controllers one 2000w inverter and 2 200ah batteries. It all works without any connection to internet. I would like to step up to 48v with the new 6000xp. I think I will wait it out till the shit hits the fan. It seems like all of the newer AIO’s are obsolete in two years. I am thinking instead getting 2 Victron cc, Samplex inverter and a SOK rack battery without communication . Just keep it simple.
if the internet goes down who knows it could brick all systems that connect I think we are headed for some strange times very soon

Victron does not have an AIO unit. It has separate components so you can build it and expand it how you want. - it also costs more.

But they do a very good job with software updates!!! And it just works.

Vitron EasySolar​

All-in-one solar power solution​