diy solar

diy solar

Wiring for safety - can I overlap cables?

cansel

Hi All,

I'm a newbie who recently installed a 48v solar setup with 3.3kw array and 6kw inverter. I am finally ready to go ahead with the AC installation in the house but I'm wondering if it's safe to overlap cables like positive, negative and earth. Any recommendations are highly appreciated.

Thanks

Not being sure what or how you mean ‘overlap’ it’s going to be very hard to answer this question.

Can you provide a picture of what you mean when you say overlap?

Hi, thanks. I meant this (see pic) are there any rules on which cable can or can't cross another?

772708B0-95B3-4050-870D-D9937715159B.jpeg

Generally speaking it's not wise to overlap line and load cables due to one of them invariably not having proper (if any) overcurrent protection should something go wrong. Maybe that's what you're asking about?

As was just mentioned you've likely got a much bigger mess with whatever is hiding behind that really cheap tape, both red and black.

That is some pretty sharp aggregate you've got those cables rubbing up on as well. I'd start over if it was me.

Those lines are the PV input. One comes from the 50a breaker and the other from the surge suppressor. Where I live they don't sell nuts to connect 6awg cables so I spliced them. The red is positive the black is negative. Max input is 42 amp and 93 volts. The AC output from the inverter is placed so that it would cross the DC lines but I don't think that's a good idea so I will run the wires around the shed so they don't cross. The earth line from the surge suppressor will cross the pv input lines.

Generally speaking it's not wise to overlap line and load cables due to one of them invariably not having proper (if any) overcurrent protection should something go wrong. Maybe that's what you're asking about?

As was just mentioned you've likely got a much bigger mess with whatever is hiding behind that really cheap tape, both red and black.