diy solar

diy solar

12v or 48v system in RV?

MTC1014

New to the forum and already learned a ton just by browsing. I wanted to get the expert's opinions on which route to take while adding lithium batteries to my travel trailer.

I'm considering going 48v because I've read that it would be more efficient than 12v, however my trailer already does have some 12v appliances (fridge, lights, fans, tongue jack).

would it be more efficient to go with a 48v system and just add a step down converter for the 12v loads, or just do a 12v system and eliminate the need for the step down converter? My AC loads would mainly be the TVs, microwave, and outlets for laptops/chargers/internet router, along with sometimes running the air con.

I'm still very new to all this and I may be overthinking it, but I'm wondering if the phantom draw on the step down converter would basically wash out the efficiency of going with a 48v system for the AC loads.

Thanks in advance for any and all input.

I'd stick with 12v personally, keep it simple

Doesn't look like you're going to need a big inverter, you only really need to go 48v if youre moving a LOT of power, either big inverter and/or big solar array

What about 24V?

Inverter efficiencies are about the same:

From https://www.victronenergy.com/uploa...MultiPlus-inverter-charger--800VA-5kVA-EN.pdf

12V/3000W = 93%
24V/3000W = 94%
48V/3000W = 95%

Battery size is more about total power output and expandability.

Want to pull more than 2000W from 12V? your cables are going to get THICK due to your DC currents being high... 2000/12/.85 = 196A. 3000W is a practical upper limit for 12V.

More than 4000W from 24V? Same.

So, what is your peak continuous power need?

along with sometimes running the air con.

Can you explain this more? Some people think a “little bit” of air conditioning is running it full blast for 5-8 hours. Also it depends upon the energy needs of your ac unit and whether or not it will work with a soft start device.