diy solar

diy solar

Cargo conversion- ideal solar system to power AC?

gooby

Hi all. I am new to this stuff, so bare with me.

I have a 16' cargo trailer I have converted to live in. I am using shore power most of the time, but would like to travel the country and be able to utilize AC. I use a 5000 BTU window AC unit currently. I have some health issues that make me need the option for AC if indeed I can't get shore power and it is too hot out, at least for the sleeping hours.

My understanding is I have two options. Build a unit and place a bunch of LiPO4 batteries into a tongue box of the trailer, or buy a pre configured unit, such as a EcoFlow Delta Pro.

My needs are going to be fairly simple. AC unit(if the weather requires it), occasional laptop and phone charging, a fridge and an occasional use of something like a blender.

My understanding is there are advanced AC units now that work on 12v as well, such as this here: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B...c77113de91d8f59b931738ce30e6d#customerReviews

I would just get a $1k honda generator and be done with it but I hate gasoline smells and wouldn't be able to use it in all locations. I am willing to spend 5-6k to get this setup properly. Hopefully you all can guide me in the right direction and let me know if this is feasible. I really appreciate any input. Thanks

Skipping the generator is a good idea. It wouldn't work for AC without a softstart.

If you've got $5k+, you could certainly invest in a heavy duty LiFePO4 solar system.

A 5kBTU AC will probably use about 400W per hour of use, but I'm not sure if it's big enough for a 16' TT. Is the trailer insulated? Also, is the window unit going to be hanging outside the trailer or are you trying to be stealthy? Air flow to the back of the AC is critical.

I would suggest getting a bigger sized AC, maybe in the 8-12kBTU range depending on insulation of the TT. The power consumption of those will be around 1kW per hour of use.