diy solar

diy solar

Complete noob. Yep, another DC solar trailer question

Dude77

Hello folks, complete noob to this forum and I hope I'm following proper etiquette posting here.

My DC solar trailer that I've owned for about 4 months is now suddenly having the sunny island SMA inverter keep kicking off. Not throwing any kind of code that I can seem to decipher. Actually, not even sure if it is the unit itself or the midnight classic controller that is causing the issue.

I'm attempting to go off grid. Have a fifth wheel, a rather large one, and from the first day of purchasing this DC solar trailer, while the seller was still there I connected it to my fifth wheel to verify it could power my two air conditioners. It did. I bought, seller left, and I've been running the AC while on the property 2 to 3 days per week without issue until very very recently.

Outside temperatures have begun to spike, first issue was on a day worthy ambient temperature was just over 100°.

I heard my AC suddenly kick off and I was nowhere close to being cool. Walked out to the DC solar trailer to find that the master for the sunny island was asking to be started again. Thought nothing of it and restarted it..... 20 minutes later it did it again. I reset again, this time it took about 40 minutes but it tripped again.

Initial thought maybe it's just too hot. The midnight classic controller box seems to be exceptionally warm to the touch but I still hear the fan going. Cabinet fans were also still working.

I attempted over the next several visits to the property to try and look for error codes, The SMA keeps it showing a warning of a low battery, but the midnight classic is showing my voltage still at 44.4 volts on the two forklift batteries that I thought should be giving me 510 amp hours (510x2 batteries down to 50% is 510 right?).