diy solar

diy solar

Considering DIY Long distance from panels

georgia088

I have a house that sits about 400-500 feet from an open 1 acre field. I live in area where (as far as I can tell) does not offer net metering services. I use approximately approximately 40kwh - 50kwh per day. The house is surrounded by trees and I would prefer not to add panels on the roof. I do however have a relatively flat portion of roof that I would consider adding panels to that covers about 350 square feet and would receive about 4-5 hours of sun I am guessing. I have some knowledge of lithium batteries and have built several 48v battery packs that I have been very pleased with. I have a couple of questions as to IF I would ever see monetary gains by going "off grid" and what would be the best method. I am in georgia. The only way I would consider doing it is if I did it myself.

If I were to try to go off grid, I realize 400-500 feet is a long ways. I already have wire buried from this 1 acre field to my panel. The wire I believe is 4 gauge aluminum. Because AC voltage travels better with less voltage loss than DC, would I be better off with the inverter near the panels? Or, would the DC voltage from the panels be ok traveling this distance and the inverter close to the house/panel/battery pack?

What size/ kind of inverter would I need?

Would I ever come out financially?

Any input is appreciated!

Thanks

4awg or 4/0 aluminum?

Generally you run DC over the long distance since it's higher voltage and for 4awg I would run several strings of combined DC. If it's 4/0, 240V AC might be an option.

You'd be better off running the DC for the panels the long distance, although depending on array and inverter sizing you may need multiple DC PV circuits and to run additional wire.

DC travels just as well as 60 Hz AC.