diy solar

diy solar

Eaton AMX and AMH Fuses alternative to Class T

yabert

Solar Enthusiast
I think I found a really interesting 10-15$ fuse alternative to Class T fuses.
Eaton Bussmann AMH specs:
-current ratings 350A, 400A or 500A
-ultra-high interrupting ratings, up to 20,000 A.
-voltage ratings, up to 125 Vdc

Eaton Bussmann AMX specs:
-current ratings 80A to 350A
-ultra-high interrupting ratings, up to 8,000 A (63Vdc).
-voltage ratings, up to 125 Vdc

Look good to me. Any thought?

Eaton fuses.JPG

Looks like a plan but I’m not an electrician. I’ll be watching this to see what the thoughts are.

Considering those kind of fuse generally have increased breaking capacity as voltage go down (see pictures as example), could I consider the AMH fuses breaking capacity to be around 50 000A at 60V?
I ask because EV battery are othen very powerfull and there is no need for a large capacity to have very high short circuit current.

Anyhow, to me the small 10$ AMX fuse is awesome for e-bike/motorcycle battery and other small capacity batteries. It is really compact, I like it.

Fuse breaking capacity-1.JPG

Fuse breaking capacity-2.JPG

For comparison I had posted the trip curve of a JLLN class T fuse here:
And that ANH fuse below. Glancing at it looks like the ANH is a slightly slower tripping but doesn't seem significant for normal 48V battery application. i.e. sending double the current rating of the 350A ANH fuse shows 100 seconds whereas doubling the 200A class T fuse is around 70s

Screenshot 2023-04-06 at 8.34.56 AM.png

Here compare to A15QS fuse.
When comparing 350A fuse, it seem like the semiconductor fuse will blow at lower current, so a bit faster in a short circuit event.
I'm not concern about the 750A VS 1000A blowing current at 1 second, but I'm more concern about the 1100A VS 3500A blowing current at 0.01 second.
Fuse breaking capacity-3.JPG

...could I consider the AMH fuses breaking capacity to be around 50 000A at 60V?