diy solar

diy solar

EG4 6500EX-48 Expansive lesson learned!

Sadow

Hello everyone! Let me start by saying how much of dumb I've been. I have grid-tied micro inverter-based solar panels (I duped myself into paying one of these door-to-door companies). I noticed I'm injecting almost 30-40kwh daily to the grid and getting paid $0.30-$1.50 per day depending on price range (I'm in the ERCOT market). I decided to get batteries to store the power instead of selling it for almost free. I failed to pay attention to the "Off-grid" part of every video review I saw of EG4 6500EX models. I bought 2 of them thinking I can run the whole house with 13kw along with 20kwh batteries.

I've got lots of experience in electricity as I worked as a master tech for a big utility company and now am a transmission dispatcher, so I worked from 130v DC system to 345kV AC with no residential experience (but everything in the substation is way more complicated than any house so I figure wth!!). So I wired up the whole setup via a sub panel, moved some circuits to the panel mostly fans lights computers etc, and left the big appliances on the grid panel (which I can backfeed during a power outage after turning the main breaker off via the tie-breaker)