diy solar

diy solar

First RV upgrade 30A 5th wheel

Scycle

I have a diagram started for this project that needs tweaking-I'm sure. While trying to size the wire and fuses I find cable charts that rate 4/0 90'C @ 260A and others @ 440A. I am new to lithium and solar so my information has come from several sources and now my brain is mush, so any advice is appreciated.

Attachments

• schematic.png
    schematic.png
    124.5 KB · Views: 50
I don't see a 12 volt feed back to the 12 volt side of the distribution panel.
For the charger ac input 14 awg is ok, use the breaker in the distribution panel ac side that fed the old converter. 10 awg from charger to batteries is the minimum but experience, my self and others, 8 or 6 awg would be better.
Different amp ratings on wire result from wire type, temperature ratings, and free air vs bundled or in conduit.

I don't see a 12 volt feed back to the 12 volt side of the distribution panel.
For the charger ac input 14 awg is ok, use the breaker in the distribution panel ac side that fed the old converter. 10 awg from charger to batteries is the minimum but experience, my self and others, 8 or 6 awg would be better.
Different amp ratings on wire result from wire type, temperature ratings, and free air vs bundled or in conduit.
I didn't include the 12v from panel to battery because I plan on using the existing line that will now feed the 12v side of the panel from the battery. The charger needs to come from the transfer switch only live when on shore power to avoid the inverter trying to charge the battery-at least that is what I was told but it makes sense. There will be a 15A fuse in the transfer for the charger, but also need on in the Lynx-maybe 15A also? The range on the cable charts is wide but both were for 90C temp battery or welding cable which could determine if I need to change the 2/0 to 4/0.