• Yes

• I used to, not anymore

• No but I plan to use it one day

• No and I don't see a reason to purchase it

Results are only viewable after voting.

Will Prowse

Forum Owner
Staff member
Solar Assistant is a solar system monitoring and remote control app. It can also be used for home automation and load control.

I am using this poll to measure it's popularity on the forum. I have never used it before, but am curious how many people are using it.

Have had it running for over two years (August 2021). It turned a cheap AIO inverter into a far more capable unit, not just for monitoring but particularly through the inverter control automations I have set up with Home Assistant (and Node Red).

My automation controls when it switches between utility pass through and SBU modes (based on how our grid-tied PV system is running and to avoid grid imports), as well as control if, when and how much supplemental battery charging it uses from my grid-tied PV system.

I'm considering it, but I'm not a fan of Raspberry Pi. I have a whole box full of arm-based SBCs, but no Orange Pi 3 LTS, and I much prefer x86 SBCs. I also don't see a try before you buy, and the idea of a locked-down Pi running proprietary software just rubs me the wrong way.

The price is not an issue, and I would have no problem if I could run it wherever I wanted, but I'm currently working on Home Assistant integration to see if that is good enough.

Just to throw one more dart, I don't see any indication of where this software comes from, the only contact information is an email address, and the domain registration is almost entirely redacted.

Yes, used it for my mpp's and voltronics in the past, now for my sunsynk/Deye/sol-ark's and my seplos Mason batteries