diy solar

diy solar

THANK YOU - Will Prowse

SoVT

Hi Folks new here. Just turned on my system for the first time today. Joined the forum to show it off a bit.

I’m building a small 1,200 sq ft off grid home in Southern Vermont. It’s up in the Green Mountains about 2,300 feet. So we get >10’ of snow annually so off grid is a challenge. But we are going into year three now and loving it.

After much online study I decided to build Will’s 48V DIY configuration. I’m no electrician but this wasn’t really all that difficult. Thank you Will for your crystal clear DYI videos. For whatever reason I absorb your videos much better any other on the topic.

I’m paying out of pocket for everything on the homestead so I don’t have the funds for PV or all the batteries right now so I’m charging my batteries from my propane generator and will add more ASAP.

Here is my setup…

2 x EG4 6500EX = 240V / 13,000W
2 x EG4 LiFePower 4 = 48V / 10,000kWh
1 x EG4 ChargeVerter = 5,000W / 100A

Attachments

• D89AD4EE-F794-43DF-96D8-DAF52E78ED06.jpeg
    D89AD4EE-F794-43DF-96D8-DAF52E78ED06.jpeg
    125 KB · Views: 195
  • 9D6274D4-6C69-4985-92CC-542A7CB0D880.jpeg
    9D6274D4-6C69-4985-92CC-542A7CB0D880.jpeg
    248.5 KB · Views: 195
Nice clean install. My only suggestion would be to add a bunch of weight to the bottom of the rack, if it isn't anchored to the wall, until you get more batteries.
It's unlikely it will tip as is, but if it gets started it will be very difficult to stop being so top heavy.

Ps. I really like how you used the bump out for the DC breaker / fuse enclosure mounting. Also nice neat work on the plumbing.

Hi Folks new here. Just turned on my system for the first time today. Joined the forum to show it off a bit.

I’m building a small 1,200 sq ft off grid home in Southern Vermont. It’s up in the Green Mountains about 2,300 feet. So we get >10’ of snow annually so off grid is a challenge. But we are going into year three now and loving it.