diy solar

diy solar

Welcome, from Sunny Phoenix AZ

HaldorEE

Solar Addict
New member.

My background: I am 60+, male and an electrical engineer by profession. my hobbies include: dual sport motorcycle riding, camping, shooting and astronomy.

I am primarily interested in solar for RV applications. I just bought an Ford E-350 van that I am going to be converting into a camper van and I plan on installing a solar power system. The van will be used for trips and weekend use, not full time living.

I would love to build a DIY power system, but the heat here in Phoenix just cooks batteries and leaving a battery pack permanently installed in the vehicle just seems like a bad idea. Typical temperature inside an unoccupied car in the summer here is between 160 to 180 degrees. Starter batteries typically die after 2 to 3 years of use and I bet any battery left inside the cab is not going to last that long.

My current thinking is to use a Delta 1300 Power Station for the battery, inverter and solar charger. I would carry this inside the air conditioned house when the van is not in use. I would actually rather get a 2400 WH Bluetti, but its 1000W AC output power limit makes me concerned I won't be able to run a microwave oven which is one of the primary reasons I want to have AC power in the van.

I am willing to be convinced if anyone has a microwave oven suggestion that is able to comfortably operate from a Bluetti or better yet, directly from DC battery voltage.

I will also be installing a small DC powered compressor refrigerator as well.

concerned I won't be able to run a microwave oven
I think you are WILDLY overestimating the Delta and Bluetti "power stations".

How long are you hoping to run a microwave each day with one of these?

And how many watt hours does a small DC powered compressor refrigerator use in a day?