diy solar

diy solar

What are Low Frequency Toroidal Inverters?

burgerking

So here I heard some inverters that are "low frequency toroidal inverters".

1. What are they? Example?
2. What is their advantage vs regular high frequency inverters?
3. Can toroidal inverters be high frequency?
4. And how do they synthesize sine wave?

No expert here, the toroidal transforms are "the best" and really help with heavy loads, and start ups. They are always low frequency and pure sinwave, best to my knowledge. I believe the sine wave is part of hardware/software. Check out generty solar. They have one and are made in the U.S.A. (with parts from china I'm sure) and they have a phone number you can call to talk to the owner himself. He will most likely call you back.

Last edited:
I'm also no expert and this simple explanation probably has holes. In the context of inverters, HF & LF refers to where the increase in voltage occurs. Both use high frequency switching circuits but HF generally runs at a higher frequency.

In HF the battery DC is boosted to something like 200 & 350VDC for 120 & 240VAC mains. This is then converted into a sinusoidal waveform for 50 & 60Hz. As this conversion is done at high voltage, the current is lower, and multiple small transformers are used.

LF is opposite in that the DC is converted to a sinusoidal waveform. This low voltage AC is increased to 120 or 240VAC through a transformer. As the voltage is low, the current is high, so a larger transformer is required. The large transformer is the main reason they can handle surge for multiple seconds instead of milliseconds.

Main transformer types are EI (square style) or toroidal. Toroidals are better magnetically and can offer better idle current. A good toroidal inverter will idle at less than 20W.

Both designs have pros & cons so words like "best" are user defined.

toroidal inverters? Must be toroidal transformer, one in the same.