diy solar

diy solar

What is the easiest way to compress prismatic Cells?

Rogers manufactures many types of Poron foam. Just was making it clear that the linked foam is *not* the Rogers Corp Poron foam designed for battery applications - specifically called EVExtend - and has entirely different properties & thicknesses than many of the poron foam products that people have been linking from mcmaster/grainger.

Edit: I actually spoke with people at Rogers and the only way to get the Poron foam EVExtend product (which is their foam specifically designed for this purpose) you need to go through one of their preferred converters.
Here's a link to the LEGIT Rogers foam product that is engineered for this purpose: https://rogerscorp.com/elastomeric-material-solutions/poron-industrial-polyurethanes/poron-evextend
Too funny, I'm an engineer for a major film coater and most of the names on that list (including Roger) are customers of ours!

Even though I could likely get the foam for free, I would feel more comfortable using springs as I'd think they are likely to have a more consistent load over time and at temp extremes. Something like this would probably work well over the life of the batteries:

Just my 2 cents...

Too funny, I'm an engineer for a major film coater and most of the names on that list (including Roger) are customers of ours!

Even though I could likely get the foam for free, I would feel more comfortable using springs as I'd think they are likely to have a more consistent load over time and at temp extremes. Something like this would probably work well over the life of the batteries:

Just my 2 cents...
I haven't seen that much data on valve springs. I was looking at oval wire die springs, for the same reasons as you.

I haven't seen that much data on valve springs. I was looking at oval wire die springs, for the same reasons as you.