diy solar

diy solar

Wind turbine dump *novice alert*

Salisburytree

hello to whom may be reading this,

I'm very new to this renewable energy world.

I have myself a tropical house which is heated via means of a climate battery and and an electric fan heater. I have recently purchased a 400 watt wind turbine with a hybrid charge controller (will be looking to add a solar panel in the future). Also i have 3x 100ah leisure batteries.

My fan heater is 400 watts ac , my ideal is for the turbine to power my heater which runs at a cold spell 24/7 and when the weather is mild it kicks in at night for approximately 5-6 hours total . I also run a 25 watt inline fan for my climate battery. This runs a total of 6-8 hours in the day and night.

I think I get the idea of the setup... turbine to charge controller - charge controller to battery bank - batteries to inverter - then off to my load (heater and fan)

I understand the turbine needs a dump so if my batteries are full the excess power goes somewhere and gives the turbine resistance. Now I dont mind my heater running more than required as its only set at minimum temperatures and can be plenty warmer with no damage being done, actually the warmer the better!

So im wondering for a dump can I hook up an inverter into a second fan heater of equivalent wattage? This wouldn't cause any harm to the 600 watt inverter and work as a sufficient dump?

Sorry that was very long winded, I was trying to cover as much ground to save questions!

Any help would be much appreciated!

So im wondering for a dump can I hook up an inverter into a second fan heater of equivalent wattage? This wouldn't cause any harm to the 600 watt inverter and work as a sufficient dump?
If you could find a 12V heater, that would greatly simplify this dump load.

Introducing an inverter would be high on my list of things to avoid.