diy solar

diy solar

Can anyone help to get this "complete" system working please?

Stuart444

Hi,

I live in Hampton, in south Cheshire, UK. I have a new DIY solar PV system, but am falling at the last hurdle.

I'm a retired chartered chemical engineer. I have lots of DIY experience but this is my first solar PV project.

My kit is:
16 off 400W or so panels, so max PV ~ 6.5 kW. Ground mounted.
Voltacon ESS 5.5 kW inverter (actually made by Voltronic, model ESS510).
3 off PylonTech US5000 batteries.
Eastron smart meter.
Various isolators, and surge protection at both ends of the DC feed cable.

I bought all this from Voltacon (Birmingham, UK) in early 2013. It took a long time for me to install, but it has been "complete" for a couple of months now. It charges up the batteries fine, but at present I can't get the system to export more than a few watts to my house.

I've checked several times the various Voltacon videos on youtube, and scrutinised the installation instructions, and as far as I can tell it is all correct. Local PV installers don't really want to help as they worry that they might lose their accreditation for working on a system made by a non-accredited installer, or so they say. One did come over as a favour and cast an informal eye over it, and he spotted a couple of installation shortcomings that I have since fixed, but he wasn't familiar with this inverter.

Whatever load is being drawn by my house, the inverter exports nothing. I put a clamp ammeter on the connection from the inverter to the nearby consumer unit, and it usually shows 16W (0.016kW), dropping to zero if I open the isolation switch.

Voltacon's explanations on youtube are difficult to follow and sometimes ambiguous in my view. They try, but they are not professional educators!