diy solar

diy solar

Just a total noob willing to built a 8S from Amy Wan

damon6sdl

Hi All! And before I start, thanks a lot for the whole informations available here. Would probably never have even thought about what's below without this forum.

So... I'm building a van. Not really a van tho, being a 11meters long truck. Reaching the battery discussion, it seemed quiet clear to me that I'd go for Lithium. But prices are just.... Brrrr. Here's what I've been offered: 25,6V/150AH 3,84KWH Lithium Battery - Powerbrick+ and integrated BMS. About 3000€ so 3300$.

It doesn't "look" too hard to build. At least in videos. So I've been reading again and again to see what you guys seem to mention as the reference of Chinese market for now. And found Shenzhen Luyuan Technology Co., Ltd and their "EVE 280AH LiFePO4 (LFP) 3.2V Cells Battery (New Version LF280K with 6000cycles, Fully Matched)--Genuine Grade A".

I've been talking with Amy for a while, and am just waiting for the cells availability. I said I know nothing about balancing and therefore would need the most matched ones possible.

I thought about going for 560 AH but It's probably way too much, so I'll start with 8S for a 24V 280AH battery.

About the BMS, she was offering JBD BMS 8S 100A. But as a noob, I saw 100A is way below 280 (it probably has nothing to deal together...) so I said I'd need the JBD BMS 8S 300A. But in fact I have no clue.

I said I need everything: She added insulating materials and a box. Busbar and nuts are included.

Asking about the maximum charging current and discharge current of the BMS I need... I said "If I got it well, it could be 5-95 but probably safer and better to go 20-80?" Yeah, if it wasn't obvious yet, consideer I know nothing. I've been reading and that's all.