diy solar

diy solar

Not sure where to ask this…

Clembot

Hi everyone,

It’s my first post here. I was recommended this forum by a friend in the hope to get some help for our upcoming off grid setup.
I am currently building a house in remote rural area in NSW Australia. There is no access to the grid but plenty of sun and we have a nice exposure for the Pv so we’re expecting a good yield all year round. ( 31° south for the nerds )

Now I am fairly new to the solar system and I understand the basics. I have successfully setup very basic 12v systems for cars, caravan, our mud kitchen… mainly with lead acid / AGM batteries. I am also familiar with basic household AC wiring, and I would be comfortable wiring a power board, wiring up a house myself having done a fair few jobs around my workshop and houses in the past…

The reason of my asking for advice on this forum is because I need some help figuring a good setup for our house which will be a much bigger system and as I understand it, mistakes can get not just costly but also dangerous especially with a lot of bigger panels, lithium batteries etc... I won’t be able to get a sparky in as it’s too far and probably to unconventionally designed for someone accredited to take on the job. So I want to know some opinions of what could be the best way to go about with our budget and what we already have bought over the last year.