diy solar

diy solar

Single-Axis East-West Sun Tracking Ground Mount Design

Fearless

I'm attempting to design a single-axis east-west sun-tracking ground mount. I know it's better to just add more panels. I still want to pull this off. I'll be using a simple reliable slew drive and a $50 controller that monitors the wind strength and levels when high wind is detected. I'm using 32 Bluesun BSM550M10-72HBD (https://www.bluesunpv.com/uploadfile/downloads/BSM550M10-72HBD-USA.pdf) divided into 2 arrays. I'm utilizing 2 1/4" 14 gauge galvanized square tubing for the solar panel mounting frame. The panel frame will be mounted on what looks like the pipe that holds up a see-saw. The post pipes will be 5 - 4 1/2" OD galvanized hexagon pipe. The horizontal turning pipe will be a 2" OD pipe.

I'm brand new to this so any tips are much appreciated.

Thanks,

Greg
groundmountforum.png
controller.png

Last edited:
I'm also working on a tracker, just because.

I expected a central bar/pivot point to act as the axis for your slew drive to pivot the array. How are the pillow blocks and sleep drive going to mount to the frame?

What size slew drive are you going with?

I'm just going simple and bolting the panels straight to the frame.

I'm also working on a tracker, just because.

I expected a central bar/pivot point to act as the axis for your slew drive to pivot the array. How are the pillow blocks and sleep drive going to mount to the frame?

What size slew drive are you going with?

I'm just going simple and bolting the panels straight to the frame.

Something like this.
clamp.png

Slew Drive:
Rated Output Torque=6300N.m

Holding Torque=45Kn.m

The pillow block bearings mount to 4 of the poles. The 2" pipe turns in them.

Last edited:
More planning. After wrong answers from AI bots for distances, I figured them out myself. I'm having a hard time figuring out how far apart the rows of arrays should be. I also picked up 36 of the 2 1/4" square tubing for the frames today.