Solar assistant: do you use it?

Do you use solar assistant with your solar system

• Yes

• I used to, not anymore

• No but I plan to use it one day

• No and I don't see a reason to purchase it

Results are only viewable after voting.
Multiple brands, yes.
I have 4 JBD and 4 Seplos, can connect either/or and they work great.
But I cannot get either of them to work directly into HA.
Batmon seems like it should work, I can see the JBD data coming into HA but don't know what to do next....the instructions stop and I am not a coder.
MQTT and YAML make my head spin. Give me a hammer and duct tape.

I love and hate home assistant so much.
Now to my problem, because of the inadequacy of solar assistant to support multiple bms's I just want a real simple voltage times current equals Watts in a home assistant gauge. I have both parameters coming in from my inverter but solar assistant will only take battery metrics or inverter metrics to do that calculation.
I made a helper to get the Delta between min and Max cell and I thought I could do the same to multiply two numbers but apparently not.
I just use a Smart Shunt connected to SA for charge/discharge. One of the few blue things I use.

Cell delta I can read on the Batrium but if cells are well balanced you really don't need to look at cell delta very often.

I have a Junctek KH160F that outputs simple txt, has some code/integrations on git and I could never get that to work either.
I am as dumb as fuck when it comes to this shit. :mad:

I made a helper to get the Delta between min and Max cell and I thought I could do the same to multiply two numbers but apparently not.
That'll require adding a template sensor to the config file using yaml.

There are no general "maths" helpers, at least not at the moment. They do add new helpers from time to time and performing maths functions would be very helpful indeed.