diy solar

diy solar

1.5 hp 240v AC deep well pump start up surge of 40amps

VeritasCupitor

I'm a beginner. I know this topic has been discussed before, but the advice for inverters is beyond my budget. I would like to have a system for emergency use only. This would be to run the pump for about 15 minutes at most 3 times a day. The pump is AC "230" volts (240V) with a running amps of 10 and a startup surge of 40.17 amps. Measured with a TRMS clamp. Total well depth = 181'Pump depth = 140'Water table = 79' Pump output 20 gpm. I have 2 12V LiFePO4 230 Ah batteries on the way. Still need panels, charge controller, and inverter. From what I've read 24 volts would be better. I will be adding a plug to the well pump power line in order to run a cord to the inverter. Any advice on whether the 2 batteries are enough, and an affordable (< $1K) pure sine low frequency inverter? I will also use the system to power other items intermittently. I've seen conflicting reviews on the Santan Solar used panels, and I don't need a pallet load. Sorry if this seems redundant but I would appreciate useful advice. (replacing the pump is not an option).

Neighbor uses this one (24V version):

for his 3hp Grundfos pump at 700' depth. Yes. seven hundred, but he only got about 7gpm.

Run was about 18-19A @ 240V.

Surge was never measured, but it was published at 5X run.

Ran it like a champ until he downsized to 2hp, so he could power the pump purely via PV.

You'll almost certainly want 24 or 48V.

My concern is that your batteries can't handle that kind of surge.

Downside to this unit is it's VERY heavy, and it has a VERY high idle consumption... around 100W, so just turning it on and powering no loads would drain your batteries in about 2 - 2.5 days.

Only if you find an inverter under a grand that spec's 9600W for 3 seconds.
Sunny Island spec is 11kW. It's 120V so would need auto-transformer.

Midnight Rosie has spec 15kW for 60 seconds.