diy solar

diy solar

Adding a 240V inverter for well pump

Rick_in_MT

Apologies if this is close to similar postings but some of the numbers are different.

I currently have a (very small solar setup) with a 400AH battery bank with a 12v 40A Renogy charge controller and 2000W Renogy inverter for emergency use. I'd like to add a 240V inverter for my 80-ft well pump. The pump is HERE. It is 3/4 HP 230V 2-wire single-phase. I'm no electrician but I've done plenty of my own 120V work. However, this is a bit outside my comfort zone.

The pump only runs 4 or 5 times a day to refill our pressure tank and the well is only 80 ft deep and about 30 or 40 feet from the house. Again, this is for emergency use only, like the rest of the solar setup.

My question is, after some searching I've found this inverter and the manufacturer answered my email that it will be sufficient.

"Sigineer Power 3000 watt Pure Sine Power Converter changes 12Volt to 120/240Vac Pure Sine Wave output.
This 3KW 12V Pure Sine Power Converter is more than just your daily inverter. It is a three-in-one product:
It is an inverter that converts 12V DC (direct current) power into 120/240V AC (alternating current) electricity to power tools and appliances.
A built-in 30 amp transfer switch will automatically switch between shore power and battery-bank power within 10 mili seconds."

Of course, they want to make a sale, plus it's from China. :cautious: Cost is a problem as we're retired and my hairbrained schemes are done on a shoestring. I read some of the other discussions and the inverters they mentioned are astronomically out of my range.

Otherwise I'll be hauling water from the creek. Am I out of luck?

Thanks,

Rick

It would be prudent to test the inrush current with a clamp-on ammeter that has a peak hold or surge current setting. The specs on the inverter are good (assuming they are accurate) Taking the worst case scenario, a full 9,000W surge would require 720A+ at 12.5V.