diy solar

diy solar

EG4 18kPV - String Calculations

WattAboutThat

EG4 - 18kPV - String Calculations

Using Canadian Solar 385W Panels

This is my first time attempting to calculate

PV String series to determine maximum panels

i can safely put in a string and not exceed max voltage of the MPPT input.

Many of my assumptions may be incorrect,

and I am seeking feedback, to determine the safe quantity of panels in series per mppt.

——

Knowns:

——

18kPV Inverter Specs

per mppt

max volts 600V

max current 25A/15A/15A

max input 18kW

——

Canadian Solar Panel Specs

Wattage: 385W

VOC: 43.9V

ISC: 11.32A

Low-temperature coefficient (Pmax):

-0.34 % / °C

——

Assumptions:

I will design to use each mppt string

so all mppt strings are the same,

so designing to only use up to 15A on mppt1

so the i have the same size strings on each mppt.

Will assume max below zero temperature

for calculations to be -30F

Never has been that cold in Indiana to my knowledge, so just a safety margin.

——

Voltage Calcs using Temp Coeficient

Using Assumed -30F below Zero

(-30°F − 32) × 5/9 = -34.44°C

25C - (-34.44C) = 59.44C difference (delta)

43.9V x .34% = .14926V per degree C

.14826V x 59.44 = 8.8125744V per module

43.9V + 8.7125744V = 52.7125744V

in string of 10series

527.125744V per string

which is less than 600V

——

Current (Amps) Calcs

1 String (no paralleling) = 11.32A

which is less than 15A max

——

Watts per String

527.125744V x 11.32A = 5,967.06342W

x3 strings = 17,901.1903W

which is below 18kW of total input

——

Conclusions:

So assuming all of my calculations and assumptions are reasonably correct,

I believe it would be safe to install

3 Strings of 10 Canadian Solar Panels

one string per each mppt,

and remain safely below max V, max W, and not clip max A.

——

Please advise of any corrections
I should consider.

Thanks