diy solar

diy solar

Solar Unistrut frame shocking me

Brandan

Hey guys

I hooked up my 11 panel string to my Growatt SPH 6000 and it is running fine but i happened to touch the aluminium ladder and then the steel frame, got a strong tingle in my hand so i got my multimeter out and read 38V AC coming from the steel frame.

I haven't grounded the array just yet but this is only happening when the inverter is using battery power and the arrays not making any power.

I'm really confused on how theres AC voltage on the solar panel frame and would really appreciate any help on this.

Many thanks

I would bet it's the growatt leaking AC up the DC lines

I think appropriate grounding would solve the issue , but I'm no expert!
Yea i got people telling me that. Im surprised at how theres no DC voltage to earth day or night but im getting AC voltage

Most likely due to solar panel capacitive coupling to frame or moisture ingress into EVA film breaking solar panel isolation barrier. Set your multimeter to AC mA range and measure leakage current at the same spot where you measured 38 Vac. Ground the array frames to solve this.

Most likely due to solar panel capacitive coupling to frame or moisture ingress into EVA film breaking solar panel isolation barrier. Set your multimeter to AC mA range and measure leakage current at the same spot where you measured 38 Vac. Ground the array frames to solve this.
Took a reading, hardly anything in terms of amperage, voltage is still there. Suppose an earth rod will fix it. Thanks for the help.

Suppose an earth rod will fix it.
It will but should be bonded to main ground rod in your house electrical service or you risk burning out your inverter during close by lightning strike induced ground currents (assuming it's a ground mount array placed a distance away from inverter). You also should have a surge arrester at the array side.

This is from the user manual for the LV6548 inverter/charger: