diy solar

diy solar

totally new to solar but want to set up system on grid

GK Price

Hello - I'm totally new to solar, live in an on grid location in the mid Willamette Valley OR - wide open sky above but lots of rain 5-6 months a year -

where to start ? ...... OK, unexpected delays now taken care of and I'm ready to begin this "journey"

as original post above says is still current ... My "plan" is to build a 200 sq ft outbuilding situated in direction to take full use of sun, can build roof
structure a little outside the bldg footprint and robust enough to carry panels but don't know yet, will I need more panels that what I can mount on say 220 sq ft ? will separate a room for controls and batteries below - plan on RV batteries, good or bad idea ? -
Not a high usage residence, in summer w/ 3 mini splits in 1400 sq ft my monthly bill runs approx $100, not doing this to save money but to have power if/when grid goes down or disappears - One TV, 2 adults, induction cookstove, 1 computer nearly all LED lighting - pellet stove and wood stove if needed - PLEASE tell me what I'm missing or unaware of ...

Best source for equipment will be key for me also

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum! There are a lot of great folks on the forum who are more than willing to help. My advice would be to start with some of these resources, then ask your questions from there.

Start with your annual kWh usage. If you want batteries to have independence from the grid. Do an audit of all your electrical loads. List the item, Watts, Amps, Volts, and how many hours a day it is used. This tells you the size of the inverter and how many kWh of batteries are required at a minimum. Reach out if you need assistance.