diy solar

diy solar

I don't want to buy a gas generator!

oneandahalflegs

Hey, Need to know how crazy I am. First two things, 1. I have ALS, am wheelchair bound, and am ventilator dependent 24/7. 2. I am a mechanical engineer that does not like to let anyone else work on my shit,.... I have had to give up on that one.

My trach was installed last September. we have been working towards making my house better prepared for emergencies. Doctors, nurses, and other ALS patients scream GAS GENERATOR.

What I want to know is it possible and sensible to build a battery bank with inverter blabla to replace that generator. If an event where to last more than 4 days we would be out of there. Don't necessarily need solar, but need to understand the math. battery bank sitting charged for months is,.... crazy?

Here is some of the data I've gathered so far. not sure we need everything here. Would think we would separate circuits like a generator hook up.

Would love to hear your thoughts.

watts
min. maxvoltsamps
heater 8001206.7
hot water 2761200.6
fridge 3601203.0
well pump 500022022.7
outlets in addition 05001204.2
sump pump 2001201.7
septic pump2001201.7

A powerwall is exactly what you are describing.

Basically, a smart ups for the house.

If you have time of day demand rate electrical costs, it can even save money on the power bill.

Now solar is even better, as it charges from the sun instead of the utilities, but, yes. It is done.